Thunder-Spurs: NBA official says Dion Waiters should have been called for offensive foul
Following the crazy final seconds of Thunder-Spurs Game 2, NBA crew chief Ken Mauer was asked by a pool reporter about the final inbound play in which Thunder guard Dion Waiters looked to elbow Spurs guard Manu Ginobili.
Mauer said after review Waiters should have been called for an offensive foul. The transcript from pool reporter Mike Monroe:
Question: Can you explain what you saw on the inbounds play with 13.5 seconds remaining when Dion Waiters appeared to make contact with Manu Ginobili?
- Related to this story
- Article: San Antonio travelblog: Trying to interview Gregg Popovich
- Article: NBA Q&A: TNT reporter Craig Sager on fighting leukemia, Gregg Popovich and retirement
- Article: OKC Thunder: The Thunder's 98-97 win over the Spurs by the numbers
- Article: What they're saying about Thunder-Spurs Game 2
- Article: Thunder hold on beat Spurs 98-97, even series at 1-1
- Article: OKC Thunder: Grading the Thunder's 98-97 win over the Spurs
- Article: TNT analysts claim Spurs robbed by non-call in closing seconds of Thunder victory
- Article: Thunder journal: Roberson’s defense on Leonard keys Thunder bounceback in Game 2
- Article: Video shows Spurs fan holding Steven Adams' arm on final play
- Article: Thunder: OKC survives frantic finish in Game 2, evens series with San Antonio
- Article: Thunder evens series with more physical approach
- Article: Spurs fan: Popovich coached a bad game
- Article: Thunder-Spurs: NBA rules officials missed five calls on final possession of Game 2
- Article: Thunder sets all-time playoff low with 9.8 TV rating in Spurs series opener Saturday night
- Video: OKC survives wild finish, evens series with San Antonio
Mauer: "On the floor, we did not see the foul on the play. However, upon review we realize and we agree that we should have had an offensive foul on the play. It's a play that we have never seen before, ever, but we feel we should have had an offensive foul on Waiters."
Question: Had an offensive call been made on Waiters, what rule would have been applied to a foul committed before throw-in?
Mauer: "An offensive foul. Possession Spurs."
What wasn't asked of Mauer, however, was a question about Ginobili's foot being on the line when he was defending the inbound pass.
Ever wonder how waiters was able to reach manu so easily... Well check manu's foot he crossed the line pic.twitter.com/L1olyP55UZ— nba debates (@AIIthingsnba) May 3, 2016
Here's some context from former Executive Vice President of the NBA and current Turner Sports analyst Stu Jackson:
On Waiters OB, until passed ball has crossed the plane of the boundary, no player shall have any part of his person over the boundary line
Missed calls often occur when the primary official is focused away from point of contact or violation. Official was looking at feet on play— Stu Jackson (@StuJackson32) May 3, 2016
Replies and pictures show @manuginobili foot stepping over line before Waiters contact. That is also a violation. No player may cross— Stu Jackson (@StuJackson32) May 3, 2016
And Ginobili in postgame:
"Didn't you see it?," Ginobili said. "I was trying to rip the ball and he kind of created room with his elbow, but things happen. It's a very awkward play, doesn't happen very often, so I guess they didn't see it.
"I don't know what it is, to tell you the truth, what type of violation it is. It had to have been something. But again, it's not that play that decided anything because we got the steal, we got the shot, we got an offensive rebound so I really don't know. I've never seen a play like that."